Lee’s Summit North captures first district title in program history

Video Interviews:

10 min read

By Michael Smith

When Lee’s Summit North wrestling coach Mick Cronk looked at the field for the Class 4 District 7 tournament, he said he knew his team had a chance to do something special.

Actually, that’s exactly what his Broncos did as they earned their first district title in the 26-year history of the program with 224.5 points. Blue Springs was second with 199 points, Blue Springs South was third (146).

“We knew we had a really good team,” Cronk said. “Blue Springs South has really improved and Blue Springs is really good. But going in, I thought we were the best overall team.

“I really thought we could’ve got a couple more kids into the finals. But overall, I am very excited with how we wrestled. We were really focused and did what we needed to do to be successful.”

The top four wrestlers in each weight division advanced to the Class 4 Sectional 4 Tournament on Feb. 20 and North qualified all 14 of its wrestlers. Six wrestlers won individual district championships including Charlie Dykes (113), Caden Schweitzer (120), Trey Robinson (138), Javi Gutierrez (145), Cody Steinbrugge (152) and Aaron Barnhill (195).

Other Broncos to qualify were Paden Cole (third, 106), Seth Hooper (third, 126), Ryan McNeel (third, 132), Wayne Peterson (second, 160), Blake Horner-Ogle (third, 170), Joe Engle (third, 182), Owen Moore (fourth, 220) and Trevor Taylor (second, 285).