Wentworth Announces Women’s Wrestling Program
Lexington, MO – Tom Hughes, Athletic Director at Wentworth Military Academy and College, has announced the addition of Women’s Wrestling to the College Athletic program.  The program is set to launch in the fall of 2016.

The Women’s Wrestling program will be a member of the Women’s Collegiate Wrestling Association – the governing body for Women’s Collegiate Wrestling.  Wentworth will be the 29thcollege to add Women’s Wrestling.  Currently there are eleven collegiate Women’s Wrestling programs in the Midwest (Missouri 3, Kansas 2, Iowa 1, Illinois 3, and Oklahoma 2).  As with the Wentworth Men’s Wrestling program, the Women’s team will compete in duals and tournaments throughout the Midwest.

“One of the questions I have been asked is, “Why women’s wrestling?” Girls and Women’s Wrestling are among the fastest growing sports in the country.  Currently there are over 42,000 high school female wrestlers in the US.  And, Hawaii, Alaska, Washington, California, Texas and Tennessee hold state championships in girls wrestling.  We will have a recruiter at the State Championship event in California and Texas.  We want to be on the national forefront of establishing a quality Women’s Wrestling program,” stated Hughes.

“We will be recruiting student-athletes regionally, nationally, and internationally to build a quality Women’s Wrestling program,” added Hughes.  The program will fall under the direction, initially, of Richard (Shane) Reickard.  Reickard serves as the Men’s Wrestling Coach. We will be launching a national search to find a quality coach to lead our Women’s team,” added Hughes.

Wentworth will host the “War of the Roses” Wrestling tournament April 1-3.  The “War of the Roses” is an event for female wrestlers from around the Nation.  The “War of the Roses” is a sanctioned Championship event under the direction of USA Wrestling.

For additional information contact:

Tom Hughes                                        Shane Reickard
Athletic Director                            Head Men’s Wrestling Coach
thughes@wma.edu                                rreickard@wma.edu


Share your thoughts on this:

Grayston DiBlasi (Greater Heights Wrestling) won by decision over Bret Minor (KCTC) (Dec 16-15)
Taylor Brown (MO West Championship Wrestling) won by tech fall over Austin Kincaid (Platte County Youth Wrestling) (TF 15-4)
Riley McCall (Southwest Timberwolves) won by fall over Payton Price (MO West Championship Wrestling) (Fall 4:38)
Damon Maldonado (Northmen Wrestling Club) won by decision over Justice Mcgee (Blue Springs High School Wrest) (Dec 8-1)
Greyden Penner (Victory Wrestling) won by tech fall over Cameron Gillespie (Greater Heights Wrestling) (TF 13-0)
Ethan Locke (Dog Pound wrestling club) won by decision over Austin Morgan (Excelsior Springs High School) (Dec 12-4)
Nick Arend (Blue Valley Southwest High Sch) won by tech fall over Cody Morgan (Mowest) (TF 12-0)
Sammy Cokeley (KC Storm WC) won by decision over Jeremiah Kent (Mowest) (Dec 14-8)
Hunter Shelton (Victory Wrestling) won by tech fall over Jacob Williams (Staley High School Wrestling) (TF 10-0)
Austin Purtle (Smithville High School) won by tech fall over Colton Davis (Platte County Youth Wrestling) (TF 10-0)
Bret Heil (Blue Springs High School Wrest) won by tech fall over Joshua Tomich (Mowest) (TF 10-0)
Mike Rella (Topeka Tornado Wrestling Club) won by fall over Gary Hogan (MO West Championship Wrestling) (Fall 1:38)
Kenneth Maluia (Independence High School Wrest) won by tech fall over Ben Watson (Lee`s Summit North) (TF 13-0)
Braden Danner (Mowest) won by tech fall over Brady Childers (MO West CWC) (TF 10-0)
Jack Snyder (Victory Wrestling) won by fall over Carson Wilkerson (Brookfield Highschool) (Fall 5:21)
Hunter Tessman (Eierman Elite Wrestling Club) won by tech fall over Chase Schroeder (Independence High School Wrest) (TF 12-2)
Ottis Peeler (MO West Championship Wrestling) won by tech fall over Brett Campbell (MO West CWC) (TF 18-8)
Jake Boyd (Smithville High School) won by tech fall over Christopher York (Northmen Wrestling Club) (TF 10-0)
Zach Hazen (MO West Championship Wrestling) won by tech fall over Nick Rocha (Staley High School Wrestling) (TF 10-0)
Jaden Worthington (MO West Championship Wrestling) won by tech fall over Jordan Goff (KCTC) (TF 11-0)