Three Bulldog Wrestlers Named All-Academic

KIRKSVILLE, Mo. – Seniors Rafael Lopez and J.J. Dorrell earned Division II Wrestling Coaches Association All-Academic honors for the third time in their careers and sophomore Sam Reeves was named for the first time.

Lopez was a second team honoree with a 10-18 overall record this season and a 41-52 career mark. The Casa Grande, Arizona native has a 3.62 grade-point average in Exercise Science. It is the second time Lopez has earned second team status from the association.

Dorrell led Truman in wins in 2017 with a 22-12 record and was 61-55 in his four-year career at Truman. He was the Bulldogs nominee for the Great Lakes Valley
Conference Sportsmanship Award in the sport of Wrestling and has served this past year as President of the Student Government Association.

Reeves was 14-9 at 197 after earning all-GLVC First Team honors on the gridiron for the Bulldog Football team. Reeves’ two-year record is 37-21.

The Division II All-Academic Wrestling team consisted of 186 student-athletes from 46 universities and colleges. To qualify for the squad, the wrestler must carry a 3.00 cumulative grade-point average, second full year in school and a minimum of two letters of recommendation.

As a team, Truman was one of 20 schools (19th) named an All-Academic Team by the coaches association. The Bulldogs had a 3.135 GPA. The rankings are calculated by averaging the cumulative grade point averages of the ten wrestlers from each team, eight of which must have competed in the NCAA Regional qualifying tournament.

Share your thoughts on this:

Maryville Wrestling Summer League
Kansas City Freestyle and Greco Training Camp
Cadet/Junior Freestyle State Championship
William Boldt (Thoroughbred Wrestling) FALL Colton Kennedy (Terminator Wrestling) 1:20
Zach Elam (Team Central) FALL Hunter Pyle (Republic) :59
Nickolas Gladkov (Tri-lakes Wrest) FALL Floyd Moore (Waynesville Tig) 1:20
Blake Hopson (Greater Heights) dec Zac Russell (Team Saint Loui) 12-4
Gavin Gross (Greater Heights Wrestling) dec Nick Filger (Platte County) 7-5
Blake Bolin (American Combat Elite) TF Xavier Smith (Brickhouse Elite) 23-10
Cristian Dixon (Greater Heights Wrestling) dec Colby Benge (Mo West) 12-10
Lucas Lovellette (unattached) FALL Caleb Meeks (Blair Oaks Wrestling) 1:01
Sam Frankowski (Gateway Wrestling Academy) TF Jackson Careaga (TRI-CAP Wrestling) 12-0
Daniel Hicks (Northeast Knights Wrestling) won by fall over Blake Jost (I-44 FS/Greco Wrestling Club) (Fall 4:56)
Jeremiah Reno (Victory Wrestling) won by tech fall over Connor Mcateer (Team Saint Louis) (TF 10-0)
Cameron Stucker (Greater Heights Wrestling) dec Roman Tinoco (Mo West Championship) 17-0
Joshua Saunders (SUNKIST KIDS) TF Mason Hedgecorth (Victory Wrestling) 12-0
Ryan Lester (Gateway Wrestling Academy) TF Kevin Duong (Mexico) 10-0
Aidan Johnson (Greater Heights Wrestling) TF Alexander Sanchez (Mo West) 11-0
Xavier Doolin (Team NKC) FALL Caleb Harness (Farmington) 1:18
Matthew Witthar (Dog Pound) TF Shannon Stewart (Team Central Wrestling) 11-1