That’s a wrap, Class 1 District 4 wrap-up

Produced by: Ross Martin
MissouriWrestling.com Content Producer
February 12, 2018

The top four teams in Class 1 District 4 loaded up on qualifiers, looking to make a bigger impact at this year’s Class 1 Missouri State Wrestling Championships.

Lawson won the team title for a second straight year with 10 qualifiers and eight finalists, while Lathrop (tournament-high five individual champions) and Mid-Buchanan (school-record nine qualifiers) followed in the team standings Saturday, Feb. 10 at Plattsburg High School. The top four teams — Maysville was fourth — accounted for 35 of the district’s 56 qualifiers, 20 of 28 finalists and 11 of 14 champions.

North Andrew, Plattsburg and Summit Christian were the only teams outside of the top four to have an individual champion.

After finishing third at state in Class 1 last year, Lawson put together a dominant showing, now poised to compete for another state trophy. However, the Cardinals’ eight finalists went 4-4 in the place-matches with Braden Carpenter (138 pounds) and Tyler Ross (145 pounds) the first to win in the final round.

There is MORE to this article...the rest of this article is for MOPro Members only.

Choose your MOPro Membership

Already a MOPro Member? Log In

Park University