Spartans post strong showing against #4 McKendree

ST. LOUIS [RESULTS] No. 20 Missouri Baptist hung tough against No. 4 McKendree before falling 28-17 Thursday night in R. Alton Lacey Gymnasium.

The Spartans gave one of the top teams in the WCWA all they could handle. McKendree entered into the dual with a perfect 3-0 record, outscoring their opponents 116-23 along the way. The away team was also coming off a tournament win in the Oklahoma City Open.

The navy and white were unfazed by the top talent of the Bearcats. Anissa Rodriguez won by forfeit at 101 to put the Spartans ahead early 5-0. After dropping the next two matches, Tamara Tillman led the charge in turning things around.

Tillman won by a thrilling 7-6 decision over Hailee Lily to bring the Spartans within two points at 10-8. Cheyenne Youngblood then followed suit with an 8-3 win by decision to tie things up at 11-11 midway through the dual.

The Spartans fell at 136 by Fall, but Montana Drum got revenge by pinning Jasmine Bailey in 1:58 to knot the score back up at 16-all.

Bernice Blanco fell in a close 8-6 decision to put the Bearcats back up by two. McKendree would then carry that over to the final match in which they won by a 19-11 decision at 191. The Spartans forfeited at 170 leading to the eventual final of 27-18.

MBU will look to carry the momentum over to this weekend when they compete in the MacMurray Highlanders Wrestling Tour this weekend.

2017 MSHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Missouri roster announced.
Three Mules wrestlers advance to second day of Central Super Regional
Staley coach Gary Mayabb and senior Charley Genisio offer their thoughts on the Falcons’ 1st state championship in program history
CBC’s Malik Johnson discusses what it means to win his 3rd state title and help the Cadets earn a Class 4 team trophy
Park Hill’s Devin Winston cruised to an individual state championship, ultimately lifting the Trojans into 3rd place
Dreams Bigger than Fears
Alec Hagan of Eureka looks back on his 2nd state championship and the inseparable connection with his brother, Kyran
Underclassman, but not Underdog
Kai Orine snagged his 1st state championship to lead a strong showing by Seckman
Eight from Mizzou Wrestling in Final NCAA Coaches Panel Rankings, NCAA Allocations Announced
Neosho’s Adrian Hitchcock speaks about his memorable state championship celebration and winning the Wildcats’ 5th consecutive Class 3 title
In the Laurels of Victory
Clay Singh joins his brother, Jaret, as a 3-time state champion to lead Kearney’s 3rd-place showing in Class 3
Mindset of an Olympian
Mules Wrestling hits the road to Central Super Regional
Smithville’s Jake Boyd notches 2nd state championship, propelling Smithville to 2nd-place finish
By the Numbers: Class 3
Grain Valley coach Jesse Whitson summarizes Eagles’ record-breaking weekend that produced 1st-ever state trophy
Oak Grove’s Connor Brown, the 26th 4-time state champion in Missouri history, looks back on his incredible career and talks about the Panthers’ 17 team championship.