The second Annual Crossroads Invitational Dual Tournament was hosted Saturday by Cameron R-I School

Produced by: Dr. Chris Shanks

The Millard South Patriots are the two-time defending Nebraska Class A State Champions and have an enrollment of over 1,600 students. The Patriots defeated Camdenton 78-6, Odessa 72-0, Savannah 54-9, Mexico 56-24, and Cameron 63-15 on their way to winning a second Crossroads Invitational Dual Tournament Title. The host Dragons finished second; the Moberly Spartans third, followed by a fourth place finish from the Mexico Bulldogs. The Shenandoah Mustangs (IA), Odessa Bulldogs, Savannah Savages, Clinton Cardinals, Camdenton Lakers, and Kirksville Tigers respectively finished in 5th-10th places. Clinton 145 lbs. senior Benny Ladd was selected as the outstanding wrestler as he collected five pins throughout the day in 2:58. The ten team tournament field is divided into two pools of five and then cross-bracketed for the fifth and final dual of the day. The pool match-ups featured several head-to-head contests of some of Missouri’s top Class 2 teams.

In Black Pool action, the state ranked Mexico Bulldogs defeated the state ranked Savannah Savages 51-28. Pins from Vinny Vitale-145 lbs., Kellen Eckern-160 lbs., Brit Wilson-182 lbs., Cameron Fox-195 lbs., Wyatt Turner-220 lbs., and Terrese Aaron-285 lbs. sealed the victory for the Bulldogs. Mexico also defeated the Odessa Bulldogs (49-22). Pins again from Eckern-170 lbs., Wilson-182 lbs., Fox-195 lbs., Turner-220 lbs., and Aaron-285 lbs. again were the difference in the dual. Mexico also trounced the Class 3 Camdenton Lakers (54-21) before falling to Millard in the pool finals.

Continue reading

This is MOPro content.
Join Now or Log In for instant access and view the rest!

Join Now!

Forgot your password?

2017 MSHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Missouri roster announced.
Three Mules wrestlers advance to second day of Central Super Regional
Staley coach Gary Mayabb and senior Charley Genisio offer their thoughts on the Falcons’ 1st state championship in program history
CBC’s Malik Johnson discusses what it means to win his 3rd state title and help the Cadets earn a Class 4 team trophy
Park Hill’s Devin Winston cruised to an individual state championship, ultimately lifting the Trojans into 3rd place
Dreams Bigger than Fears
Alec Hagan of Eureka looks back on his 2nd state championship and the inseparable connection with his brother, Kyran
Underclassman, but not Underdog
Kai Orine snagged his 1st state championship to lead a strong showing by Seckman
Eight from Mizzou Wrestling in Final NCAA Coaches Panel Rankings, NCAA Allocations Announced
Neosho’s Adrian Hitchcock speaks about his memorable state championship celebration and winning the Wildcats’ 5th consecutive Class 3 title
In the Laurels of Victory
Clay Singh joins his brother, Jaret, as a 3-time state champion to lead Kearney’s 3rd-place showing in Class 3
Mindset of an Olympian
Mules Wrestling hits the road to Central Super Regional
Smithville’s Jake Boyd notches 2nd state championship, propelling Smithville to 2nd-place finish
By the Numbers: Class 3
Grain Valley coach Jesse Whitson summarizes Eagles’ record-breaking weekend that produced 1st-ever state trophy
Oak Grove’s Connor Brown, the 26th 4-time state champion in Missouri history, looks back on his incredible career and talks about the Panthers’ 17 team championship.