Northwest Lions Team Preview

Produced by: Michael Siegel

In 2016 Brothers Bob Wilhelm and Ron Wilhelm lead the Lions to their best finish since 2011. Although the Lions finished 19th with 26 team points, it was a clear step in the right direction.

For the Lions, they will return five state qualifiers for the 2016-2017 season. A total of 23 state team points which 15 are from senior Tyler Stegall. Stegall would end up fourth in at 138 in Class 4 last year. After losing in the Quarter Finals Stegall would rebound to only fall to Jake Woods (Lee’s Summit West) in the 3rd place match.

"Elite 6 duals in Columbia. I am very happy that Northwest has been invited. I have always thought we needed to have a dual meet state championship in our state." added Coach Ron Wilhelm about what he's looking forward to this season.

Continue reading

This is MOPro content.
Join Now or Log In for instant access and view the rest!

Join Now!

Forgot your password?

2017 MSHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Missouri roster announced.
Three Mules wrestlers advance to second day of Central Super Regional
Staley coach Gary Mayabb and senior Charley Genisio offer their thoughts on the Falcons’ 1st state championship in program history
CBC’s Malik Johnson discusses what it means to win his 3rd state title and help the Cadets earn a Class 4 team trophy
Park Hill’s Devin Winston cruised to an individual state championship, ultimately lifting the Trojans into 3rd place
Dreams Bigger than Fears
Alec Hagan of Eureka looks back on his 2nd state championship and the inseparable connection with his brother, Kyran
Underclassman, but not Underdog
Kai Orine snagged his 1st state championship to lead a strong showing by Seckman
Eight from Mizzou Wrestling in Final NCAA Coaches Panel Rankings, NCAA Allocations Announced
Neosho’s Adrian Hitchcock speaks about his memorable state championship celebration and winning the Wildcats’ 5th consecutive Class 3 title
In the Laurels of Victory
Clay Singh joins his brother, Jaret, as a 3-time state champion to lead Kearney’s 3rd-place showing in Class 3
Mindset of an Olympian
Mules Wrestling hits the road to Central Super Regional
Smithville’s Jake Boyd notches 2nd state championship, propelling Smithville to 2nd-place finish
By the Numbers: Class 3
Grain Valley coach Jesse Whitson summarizes Eagles’ record-breaking weekend that produced 1st-ever state trophy
Oak Grove’s Connor Brown, the 26th 4-time state champion in Missouri history, looks back on his incredible career and talks about the Panthers’ 17 team championship.