Erneste, Lemanowicz and Synon Named to Academic All-MAC Team

CLEVELAND – Three Mizzou wrestlers – redshirt sophomore 133-pounder John Erneste (Kansas City, Mo.), redshirt senior 184-pounder Matt Lemanowicz (Lee’s Summit, Mo.) and redshirt senior 141-pounder Zach Synon (Cary, Ill.) – were named to the Academic All-MAC team, announced by the league office on Wednesday. The honor is the third of Synon’s career, while Erneste and Lemanowicz earned the distinction for the first time.

To qualify for the award, a student must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of contests. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

Erneste, a mathematics major with a 3.762 GPA, was inserted into the Tiger starting lineup midway through the season and posted a record of 25-8 on the year. He qualified for the NCAA Championships for the first time in his career and among team leaders, the Tiger sophomore ranked second in falls with seven.

Lemanowicz, who is pursuing his master’s degree in Nutrition & Exercise Psychology, maintains a 3.667 GPA after graduating last spring. The Tiger senior was taken off the roster prior to the season while completing an internship, but was re-put back on the roster to fill a void at 184 pounds due to team injuries. Lemanowicz filled in nicely for the Tigers, posting a record of 10-14 while finishing fourth at the MAC Championships.

Synon, a Business Administration major with a GPA of 3.519, receives the honor for the third time in his career. Synon completed his Tiger career by posting a record of 28-8 while finishing first at three open tournaments. The 2015 MAC Champion and two-time NCAA qualifier became the 26th member of Mizzou’s exclusive win club in his quarterfinal win at the Edinboro Open on Feb. 4.

Share your thoughts on this:

Zach Elam: National Champ
Ashton Sharp: National Champ
Devin Winston: National Champ
Joshua Saunders: National Champ
From the gym to the sand: the idea behind the Midwest Beach Wrestling Nationals
GHW Fargo Training
Maryville Wrestling Summer League
Kansas City Freestyle and Greco Training Camp
Cadet/Junior Freestyle State Championship
William Boldt (Thoroughbred Wrestling) FALL Colton Kennedy (Terminator Wrestling) 1:20
Zach Elam (Team Central) FALL Hunter Pyle (Republic) :59
Nickolas Gladkov (Tri-lakes Wrest) FALL Floyd Moore (Waynesville Tig) 1:20
Blake Hopson (Greater Heights) dec Zac Russell (Team Saint Loui) 12-4
Gavin Gross (Greater Heights Wrestling) dec Nick Filger (Platte County) 7-5
Blake Bolin (American Combat Elite) TF Xavier Smith (Brickhouse Elite) 23-10
Cristian Dixon (Greater Heights Wrestling) dec Colby Benge (Mo West) 12-10
Lucas Lovellette (unattached) FALL Caleb Meeks (Blair Oaks Wrestling) 1:01
Sam Frankowski (Gateway Wrestling Academy) TF Jackson Careaga (TRI-CAP Wrestling) 12-0
Daniel Hicks (Northeast Knights Wrestling) won by fall over Blake Jost (I-44 FS/Greco Wrestling Club) (Fall 4:56)
Jeremiah Reno (Victory Wrestling) won by tech fall over Connor Mcateer (Team Saint Louis) (TF 10-0)