Illegal Contact

MSHSAA sent out the following on Friday. It is nothing new, happy to see it sent out. I think quite a few people aren't playing by the rules for contact, particularly when it comes to coaches also coaching club teams some implementation of open rooms with multiple schools present.

Question 1:  I am a high school wrestling coach and wrestlers from my high school want to wrestle Freestyle/Greco this spring.  Can I facilitate a freestyle/Greco practice twice a week and provide coaching and instruction to these wrestlers?

Answer 1:  No, as a high school wrestling coach you are not permitted to give coaching and instruction in wrestling “outside the school wrestling season-during the school year” to students that attend your high school (9-12th graders) or may attend your high school next school year (8th graders).  As a high school wrestling coach, you would be permitted to give coaching/instruction in freestyle/Greco this spring to 7th graders and below. (See Bylaw 3.14.2 e-1)

Question 2:  I am a middle school wrestling coach and wrestlers from my middle school want to wrestle Freestyle/Greco this spring.  Can I facilitate a freestyle/Greco practice twice a week and provide coaching and instruction to these wrestlers?

Answer 2:  No, as a middle school wrestling coach you are not permitted to give coaching and instruction in wrestling “outside the school wrestling season-during the school year” to students that attend your middle school (7th/8th graders) or may attend your middle school next school year (6th graders).  As a middle school wrestling coach, you would be permitted to give coaching/instruction in freestyle/Greco this spring to 5th graders and below. (See Bylaw 3.14.2 e-2)