Class 3 District 4 Fan Guide

Kearney, Smithville headline another top-heavy field in Class 3 District 4

February 8, 2019

Kearney finally unseated Neosho at the Class 3 Missouri State Wrestling Championships, giving District 4 the team champion it deserves.

Class 3 District 4 remains a top-heavy field with team trophy contenders likely to pile up medals this year. Of course, Kearney is back along with Smithville, Platte County and Grain Valley in 2019 for what should again be one of the state’s most exciting tournaments on the first weekend of the postseason.

Kearney and Smithville are both looking for a third straight Class 3 team state trophy, while Platte County has been in the top four three of the past four years. Overall, Kearney has finished in the top four 10 of the last 11 years, while Smithville has been top four each of the past five years, including three straight team trophies and a state championship in Class 2 from 2014-2016 before bumping up.

Additionally, Grain Valley a surprise fourth in 2017 to keep Platte County from having four straight.

In 2018, Kearney won its first state title since 2013 when the Bulldogs tied with Neosho, which went on to win the next four Class 3 championships outright. Platte County took third and Smithville was fourth, as District 4 took home three of the four state trophies with five teams in the top seven.

There is MORE to this article...the rest of this article is for MOPro Members only.

Choose your MOPro Membership

Already a MOPro Member? Log In