Central Missouri Edges Drury in First Home Meet

Produced by Corbin LeMaster

Weiser Gym- The long awaited return of NCAA wrestling to the Springfield area was spoiled as the Central Missouri Mules downed the Drury Panthers 24-24 winning on criteria Wednesday night.

The night began as Drury and CMU traded opens at 125 pounds and 133 pounds knotted the meet at 6-6. The 1st match of the night would be at 141 pounds the Panthers Lawyer Beckham taking on Bradley Irwin. Irwin scored on two takedowns and a riding time point taking the match 7-4 and the Mules taking the overall lead.
UCM 149 pound Zach Schriddle took the forfeit from Drury, making the score 15-6 in favor of the Mules. At 157 pounds, former NJCAA All American, Cory Pych of Drury took on Steffon Fassett in a tightly contested bout with the Panther grappler coming out ahead 5-4.

View Matches

In a match featuring two former Missouri All-State wrestlers Jesse Reser of UCM beat Grant Taylor by an 8-2 margin and after the Panthers had to once again forfeit the 174 pound weight class to Cody Carson the Mules took a firm grasp on the dual leading 24-9.

Needing to win the final 3 weights, in order to have a chance at the victory, Drury turned to former Ozark state champion John Oss to score a much needed fall in 2:52 over Allan Person of UCM making the score 24-15.

Nationally ranked Jared Rennick (#10) would be the next Panther to take the mat. Needing a bonus win the Panther obliged in a 15 second pin over Grant Sparks, igniting the home crowd and pulling the Panthers within three points of the Mules.

Coach James Reynolds would turn to his “rock solid” Ben Melton to take on former Kansas state champion and UCM heavyweight Chase Miller in the final bout of the evening. After trading escapes in the 2nd and 3rd periods Melton and Miller would remain scoreless through sudden death overtime and once again trade escapes in the ride outs before going to another sudden victory period that ended scoreless. Going into the final ride outs Melton would score an escape and takedown the seal the match and send the meet into a 24-24 tie.However, it would prove too little too late as the UCM Mules would take the meet on the 3rd criteria, most match points, to take the victory and improving to 3-0 in duals. With Drury falling to 1-3.

Share your thoughts on this:

Grayston DiBlasi (Greater Heights Wrestling) won by decision over Bret Minor (KCTC) (Dec 16-15)
Taylor Brown (MO West Championship Wrestling) won by tech fall over Austin Kincaid (Platte County Youth Wrestling) (TF 15-4)
Riley McCall (Southwest Timberwolves) won by fall over Payton Price (MO West Championship Wrestling) (Fall 4:38)
Damon Maldonado (Northmen Wrestling Club) won by decision over Justice Mcgee (Blue Springs High School Wrest) (Dec 8-1)
Greyden Penner (Victory Wrestling) won by tech fall over Cameron Gillespie (Greater Heights Wrestling) (TF 13-0)
Ethan Locke (Dog Pound wrestling club) won by decision over Austin Morgan (Excelsior Springs High School) (Dec 12-4)
Nick Arend (Blue Valley Southwest High Sch) won by tech fall over Cody Morgan (Mowest) (TF 12-0)
Sammy Cokeley (KC Storm WC) won by decision over Jeremiah Kent (Mowest) (Dec 14-8)
Hunter Shelton (Victory Wrestling) won by tech fall over Jacob Williams (Staley High School Wrestling) (TF 10-0)
Austin Purtle (Smithville High School) won by tech fall over Colton Davis (Platte County Youth Wrestling) (TF 10-0)
Bret Heil (Blue Springs High School Wrest) won by tech fall over Joshua Tomich (Mowest) (TF 10-0)
Mike Rella (Topeka Tornado Wrestling Club) won by fall over Gary Hogan (MO West Championship Wrestling) (Fall 1:38)
Kenneth Maluia (Independence High School Wrest) won by tech fall over Ben Watson (Lee`s Summit North) (TF 13-0)
Braden Danner (Mowest) won by tech fall over Brady Childers (MO West CWC) (TF 10-0)
Jack Snyder (Victory Wrestling) won by fall over Carson Wilkerson (Brookfield Highschool) (Fall 5:21)
Hunter Tessman (Eierman Elite Wrestling Club) won by tech fall over Chase Schroeder (Independence High School Wrest) (TF 12-2)
Ottis Peeler (MO West Championship Wrestling) won by tech fall over Brett Campbell (MO West CWC) (TF 18-8)
Jake Boyd (Smithville High School) won by tech fall over Christopher York (Northmen Wrestling Club) (TF 10-0)
Zach Hazen (MO West Championship Wrestling) won by tech fall over Nick Rocha (Staley High School Wrestling) (TF 10-0)
Jaden Worthington (MO West Championship Wrestling) won by tech fall over Jordan Goff (KCTC) (TF 11-0)